Healthy Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Welcome.

To a blog filled with recipes that range from healthy, such as this, or to indulgent and savory, which I slowly hope to add soon.

This is my space to show the world my kitchen and everything that happens in it, and overall my life (food being a major part of it ofc). Maybe I won’t be like Jaime Oliver, Tara O’Brady, or the cute couple that runs Minimalist Baker. Maybe I won’t ever attain that level of “coolness” like those other food bloggers. My blog layout is currently crap but PLEASE EXCUSE IT – I’m still a noob at blogging, hopefully my food will make up for it!! Regardless of my currently limited and eh blogging skills, baking will always remain a passion of mine.

To begin – BANANAS. 

IMG_1080.jpg

IMG_0331My love for banana bread is endless.

I don’t know about you guys, but whenever I see a banana even starting to get a little bit ripe, banana bread immediately comes to mind and I automatically throw it in the freezer. I’ve lost count of the amount of times this recipe has been made in our house. Banana bread is an obsession. It’s gotten to the point where whenever I see ripe bananas at even a friend’s house, I think how nice those bananas would be for banana bread.

But this isn’t an unhealthy obsession, because this banana bread is 100% HEALTHY YAS (I only use puns occasionally i swear)

IMG_0326.JPGWith no sugar, only healthy fats, and a warm cinnamony taste, this banana bread tastes just like normal banana bread. Actually, this is normal banana bread, because after this, I guarantee this will become your go to banana bread for all occasions – for a small study snack, for breakfast, to take to a get together, etc.

The fat I always use in this is coconut oil, and although I was a bit hesitant at first to use it (because the oil has a bit of a strong taste), the taste is just barely there and compliments the rest of the banana bread perfectly, and I definitely recommend, since we’re all quite aware of the coconut oil health craze that’s going around. If that’s not your preferred taste, feel free to substitute in olive oil instead (which is also another healthy option).

This banana bread is only the start of my small journey in the food blogging world Insha’Allah (God willing), hope to see you all stick around and not get toooo annoyed of me,

xx Aiza

Healthy Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Adapted from Cookie and Kate

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup melted coconut oil or extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup honey or maple syrup
  • 2 eggs, preferably room temperature
  • 1 cup mashed bananas (usually 2-3 bananas, sometimes 3 can be too much, it makes a mushy banana bread)
  • 1/4 cup milk of choice (almond, soy, cow, etc.)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Scant 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg (optional)
  • 1¾ cups regular whole wheat flour or whole wheat pastry flour (regular works amazing so don’t hesitate to try it)
  • 1/3 cup oats, plus more to sprinkle on top
  • Chopped walnuts, chocolate chips, or any other add-ins (optional)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit (165 degrees Celsius) and grease or line a loaf pan with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, beat the coconut oil and maple syrup or honey together. Add in eggs and beat well, one at a time.
  3. Mix in mashed bananas and milk, followed by the baking soda, vanilla extract, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg if using.
  4. Lastly, add in flour and oats, and mix with a large spoon, just until combined. Fold in any add-ins if using. Pour the batter into the pan, and sprinkle oats over.
  5. Bake for 1 hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes, until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  6. Let cool completely before cutting into slices.

Notes

– The recipe can be made with or without the oats, I’ve tried both ways and it tastes good either way!

– Walnuts make this banana bread a hundred times better so ADD IT DON’T LEAVE IT

Leave a Reply

