Almond Cardamom Biscotti

Hi. Today should’ve been a holiday – not sure why it wasn’t. Today is my birthday!!!!! So grateful, Alhamdulilah for my family, my friends, and everyone who helped to make it such a great day. The real celebration is this weekend though – a combined birthday brunch hosted by me and my close friend.

I’ve been meaning to post more often, but life just aint gon let that happen. First school – teachers are piling on everything and squishing in as much content as they can before summer break and finals, then clubs and random commitments, sometimes it’s too much effort to grab my laptop and write a post (I swear I’m committed to this), sometimes I just want to catch up on my shows (Quantico anyone??), and on and on the list goes. Watch me cry next school year – 3 APs?? I’ll be dead by the end of the year. Highschool’s hard but uni is even harder – crazy that in 2 years I’ll be there, and these 2 years will go by hella fast. Time is just kind of like that, especially these days.

IMG_1477

So today, I bring you guys a cookie recipe straight from the heart of Italy – Biscotti. When I was in Italy with my family, we were driving on the highway and stopped at one of those nice cafe/grocery store/highway stop stations. We ended up buying this huge pack of almond biscotti and honestly – you cannot tell the difference between bakery and grocery store biscotti, they both taste great; crumbly, nutty, and slightly sweet. I can already hear the gasps of many food bloggers – shouldn’t bakery be 100 times better?? Well I gave my opinion – so the rest is for you to decide.

Cardamom is one of my favourite spices (and a very underrated one). The aroma of cardamom that will permeate through your house when you bake this is sweet, cozy, and reminds me of bakeries in Pakistan that make thick, buttery, biscuits to dip along with a hot cup of chai, even during 50 degrees C summers.

IMG_1470This biscotti is the perfect accompaniment to your morning or afternoon cup of coffee/tea, or for any coffee date with friends. Its not overly decadent, but enough to satisfy a sweet craving.

Enjoy the amazing smell this makes in your home,

xx Aiza

Almond Cardamom Biscotti

  • Servings: Approximately 30 biscotti
  • Print

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • Generous ¾ to 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cardamom powder
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • ½ cup to ¾ cup almonds, chopped into small pieces

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F, and line 2 pans or one large baking sheet with parchment paper (I use 2 so there’s more space during the second bake).
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cardamom.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs and almond extract, then slowly add the egg mixture to the flour mixture, beating with a fork or electric mixer. After it has been well mixed, add in the almonds and continue mixing (I use a rubber spatula) until a dough forms. The dough will be sticky.
  4. Divide the dough into two mounds, and place each separately onto the lined sheets, shaping into two logs, each about 2×10 inches.
  5. Bake for about 25 – 30 minutes, until logs are slightly brown and firm, but not hard. Remove from oven and let cool for 10-15 minutes.
  6. Once cooled, transfer the logs to a cutting board and using a serrated knife, cut 1 inch to 1 ½ inch slices. Return the slices to the baking sheet and bake 7-10 minutes on one side, then flip the biscotti and bake for another 7-10 minutes. Do NOT overbake – this will result in a HARD biscotti.

Notes

– Sometimes I cut without cooling the logs if I’m in a rush – it still works but the biscotti won’t have the clean cut/finish that cool cut logs would.

-SERIOUSLY DON’T overbake. Biscotti should be firm and hard but not THAT hard that it’s like eating a rock.

– For cardamom powder, I like to use fresh cardamom powder, so I pound a couple of cardamom pods in a pestle and mortar. Feel free to use store bought cardamom powder.

2 thoughts on “Almond Cardamom Biscotti

  1. These look wonderful, I can just taste the crunchy/buttery texture. I LOVE biscotti and I love the use of cardamom with the almonds. Also, Happy Birthday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

