Creme Brulee

Having a blog of any sort is hard. It’s easy to get caught up in wanting people to view your blog and like your insta food pics and really become known and ‘big’ in the foodie world – especially when you’re a noobie like me lolll. Posting and blogging in the food area is a lot different than something like having a makeup instagram, where there’s a larger fan base and audience, whereas being a known food blogger seems some what exclusive to me. In times like this, I tell myself to stick with it – someone out there (i hope) is reading my blog and maybe gives an “oo” “ahh” or two, and in the end for me, this is a hobby. At least for myself, I’ve made a way to kind of portfolio-tize my food pics and recipes (REALLY helpful for when I can’t remember recipes). Remember YA ROOTS

In other news, the last days of summer are finally here – and we really TRULY welcome it with open arms (hah). If you listen closely, you can hear the sighs of all high school students around.

For me, this means less time to test new recipes and play around in the kitchen, so once the realization finally hit me that I have less than a week for school, I quickly started to get myself together and make things I’ve been meaning to try for months. Especially during school when I procrastinate, I think of all the things I COULD be making, but when the time finally comes, I remember nothing. Creme brulee is just another one of the many things on that list.

IMG_1720I first heard of creme brulee when I was watching High School Musical when I was younger. It was one of the guys’ secret and “forbidden” talents (completely against the status quo????) – he was a baker (WHAT a crime). Since then I’ve always assumed creme brulee to be one of those things that only the really experienced and ‘cool’ bakers could make.

I was also intimidated by the fact that you need a torch for the burnt sugar on the top. Like no way was I gonna go out and buy a torch just for a custard. BUT luckily, the recipe I found and tested doesn’t need a torch whatsoever. And despite its fancy sounding french name, the recipe isn’t as hard as I thought it would be.

A few months before, I decided to be extra and bought a small set of ramekins specifically for creme brulee – nothing else. And I left them abandoned in the cupboard until recently – until my mother yelled at me for buying them and not using them (thx mama s/o to u).

This recipe is straight fromย Mark Bittman, followed word by word, who also shared the idea of using your oven’s broiler to get the crunch on top of the creme. Trust me, you DO NOT want toย miss out on having the crunch – it makes the whole dessert and gives that sweet, caramel, taste. Plus, it’s fun to shatter the layer when you first eat it ๐Ÿ™‚

Enjoy!!

xx Aiza

IMG_1721

Adapted from Mark Bittman
Ingredients
  • 2 cups of heavy or light cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup sugar, plus more for topping
Directions
  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. In a sauce pan, combine cream and vanilla extract over low heat. Cook until slightly hot.
  2. In a bowl, beat together the yolks and sugar until light. Stir about a quarter of the cream into this mixture, then pour egg-sugar mixture into the rest of the cream and stir.
  3. Pour into four 6-ounce ramekins and place ramekins in a baking dish. Fill the baking dish with boiling water halfway up the sides of the ramekins. Bake for about 35 minutes, or until the centers are barely set (they should still be jiggly). Cool and refrigerate for 2 hours, or up to a couple of days.
  4. When ready to serve, sprinkle about a teaspoon of sugar over each custard in a thin layer. Place ramekins in oven and turn on broiler. Cook until the sugar melts and browns or slightly blackens a bit – about 5 minutes.
One thought on “Creme Brulee

Leave a Reply

